Small Business Databases

Skillsoft’s Books24x7® provides leading on demand business, technical and engineering content containing thousands of digitized "best in class" books, book summaries, research reports and best practices. The Books24x7 On Demand Platform enables users to search, browse, read and collaborate with other users of these vast professional libraries.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

BusinessDecision is a reporting, and mapping service that combines extensive consumer household, market segmentation, and demographic data with GIS mapping technology. Use this product to locate potential customers, identify new store locations, evaluate competitors or focus marketing efforts.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

Get articles from over 6,000 news wires, newspapers, magazines and journals  both locally and from around the world.  Also search industry journals and business periodicals for past and present information on companies, products, industries, and executives.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Another Guide to the Resource

Hoover's Online is a great resource for researchers, business professionals, and job seekers providing basic contact information for over twelve million companies, with detailed reports for more than 40,000 of them. Information is available for industries and competitors. The Hoover's database can be searched by company name or other criteria to produce lists of companies matching the specifications entered.

Accessibility: Available in Library only
Another Guide to the Resource

gale_FormsLogo.pngBrowse a selection of legal and business forms that can be downloaded in MSWord format for customization. Includes real estate contracts, wills, bankruptcy forms, accounts payable forms, transfer agreements, landlord/tenant forms, and many more.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card

LexisNexisMedium Get articles from ovethousands of journals, magazines & newspapers.  Contains a detailed company index with information on domestic and international corporations with the ability to create customizable contact lists for companies.  Also provides the ability to search law reviews and federal and state case law (available only to in-library users only)

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

Lynda.com Online Learning Library provides users with access to over 800 video training courses in computer related topics such as Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Word, iMovie, or Twitter. Courses range from beginning to advanced programming.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

Morningstar.com Library Edition 3Research stocks and mutual funds with Morningstar.com.  Contains detailed reports on individual stocks and funds with starred ratings for each.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

This database contains local public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home foreclosures and sales, and bankruptcies in the Illinois counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card

ReferenceUSA Logo

ReferenceUSA is a business, residence and healthcare directory that contains information on over 15 million U.S. & Canadian businesses, 220 million households and over 800,000 physicians & dentists. Allows company searches by size, location, and industry and has the capability to create contact lists of businesses and households.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card

Safari Books Online offers access to the full content of over 1,600 books primarily in the field of computing and information technology. You can search the electronic versions of books from leading publishers such as O'Reilly, Sams, Microsoft Press, Que, and IBM.

 

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, dividend records and more.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource

Value Line Research Center includes online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Get ratings and use online screening tools to find investments best suited to your criteria.

Accessibility: Available with Skokie Public Library card
Guide to the Resource
Another Guide to the Resource